What are the 7 deadly sins and why should we care?

Most people have a very shallow knowledge of sins in general and the seven deadly sins.

The word sin is mentioned many times in the Bible, beginning with the original sin where Adam and Eve were fooled by Satan and ate fruit from the forbidden tree. Sin is an offense against reason, truth, and right conscience. Sin is a violation of God’s law, including the ten commandments, it is failing to love God, caused by being attached too much to certain goods. Sin damages the nature of man and wounds the human solidarity. About Sin Apostle Paul has said,

“Therefore no one will be declared righteous in His sight by observing the law; rather, through the law we become conscious of sin.”

Romans 3:20

“If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. If we claim we have not sinned, we make him out to be a liar and his word has no place in our lives”

(1 John 1:8-10)

Our Lord Jesus Christ has sacrificed himself for our sins. We must be aware of our sins; we must repent and embrace Jesus in order to be forgiven.

These sins are considered deadly because they are the source of murder, adultery, stealing, etc.

The first deadly sin: Lust

Imagining others as mere sex objects for your pleasure, rather than looking them as individuals made in the image of our God deadly sin our list.

You should know that the Curch believes it’s healthy and normal to be attracted to the opposite sex. . This is not lust, and it’s not a sin.

Chastity is the way to defeat the sin of Lust.

The second deadly sin: Greed

The unreasonable desire and love for earthly possessions. Trying to accumulate the biggest fortune and to have everything is greed. Many crimes are committed because of this deadly sin.

Being Generous is the best way to defeat greed.

The third deadly sins: Gluttony

Gluttony is choosing to over-consume food or alcohol. Enjoying a delightful dinner isn’t sinful, but intentionally overeating to the point where you get sick to your stomach is. Having a drink of alcohol is not considered a sin in the Catholic Church. But drinking to the point of drunkenness is.

Worthy to note here is that eating disorders are not considered gluttony.

Temperance is the path to overcoming the sin of Gluttony.

The fourth deadly sin: Envy

Being jealous of another person’s good fortune or joy is envy. The Catholic Church distinguishes two types of envy:

The first is material envy. It’s when you dislike other people who have more money, beauty, friends, talent and so on than you.

The second is spiritual envy. It represents disliking other people who have made more progress in holiness, more progress at being closer to God. This type of envy is considered far worse by the Catholic Church.

Only tough love one can overcome the sin of Envy.

The fifth deadly sin: Anger

The outburst of emotions, hostile feelings and thoughts about revenge. You do not have any control of what angers you, but you do have control of what you will do after becoming angry. If someone does you wrong, for example, robs you. To avoid this sin, you shouldn’t chase the thief. Report the crime to the authorities and let them catch the thief and sentence him or her to a fair punishment.

Meekness is the path to counter the sin of Anger.

The sixth deadly sin: Pride

The irrational love of self — a super-confidence and high esteem in your abilities also known as vanity. Pride is the sin that fools you into thinking that you’re the source of your greatness.

Feeling good about yourself isn’t at all sinful. On the contrary, it is very healthy, and it is necessary to be successful. But when you start loving yourself so much that you start thinking that you are the most important being, that’s where the sin of Pride is located.

You need to remember that the sin pride is the key to all other possible sins because you are fooled; you believe you are more important than anyone, and you make irrational decisions when others don’t agree with your judgment or decisions. You justify your behavior and make justifications for your lies, also cheating, insulting stealing and so on because no one understands you like you do. In your mind, you’re underestimated by the world.

One way to remedy Pride is humility. Catholicism believes humility is a gift from God.

The seventh deadly sin: Sloth

Sloth is being passive, indifferent, lazy, especially when it comes to prayer and spiritual life. The sin sloth is defined by always wanting to rest with no desire to do something for yourself or others.

Being apathetic at religious services and being forgetful at fulfilling your religious duties is also considered a sin of sloth by the Catholic Church.

Diligence is the way to overcome the sin of Sloth.

Now, you are familiar with the deadly sins, and you know the destruction they can cause. Once you give in to one of these sins, others soon will follow. We can defeat these sins only by praying to our Lord Jesus Christ.

These are the seven deadly sins. All of them lead to other sins, and they should not be forgotten. Every Catholic should know them and be wary of them in order to live a happy, fulfilled life and be closer to God.

Leave a Comment